Brora – The Ford

IMG_2925_edited-2
The Ford on the River Brora and the Ford Bridge.

Yes, you can drive through the River Brora!

I’ve done it, holding on to the steering wheel like my life depended on it!  But only in the summer months when the water levels are really low and I made sure my brakes were working afterwards.

My favourite thing about the Ford is the Bridge.  The ‘Bouncy Bridge’ as my younger brother and I used to call it.  The old Bouncy Bridge, from my childhood, was deemed unsafe and replaced several years ago.  The new bridge has still got a bounce but not nearly as good as the original.

From the Ford you can walk along the river bank to Loch Brora or go the other way and walk down river towards the village.

Just a stone’s throw from here are the Dubh Lochs.  I’ve lived in Brora my whole life but only ventured out to find them last year – another reason I love photography.  I’ll probably take you there for a proper visit one day but for now here’s a wee peek!

And finally (I like reflections, no,  I love reflections!)

IMG_2945_edited-1

I’ve shared a copy of a leaflet produced by Highland Council showing more walks around Brora.

Paths_Around_Brora (1)

Leave a comment